Fifa football awards 2019: Best coach, best player, best goalkeeper of the year –how it went down

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool Manager. Photo|Getty

The best Fifa football awards 2019 ceremony went down on Tuesday with Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp and Barcelona player Lionel Messi scooping the lead in Milan.

Klopp was named men's coach of the year following last season’s 2-0 victory against Tottenham, which earned Liverpool the Champions League trophy.

Other Premier League managers who competed with Klopp were Manchester City's Pep Guardiola and Tottenham's Mauricio Pochettino.

Messi speaks after the award presentation, Photo|Getty

Messi on the other hand, won the best men's player beating Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk.

The BBC sports reports that this is the sixth time Messi has been voted the world's best, after wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

In the women’s category, United States forward Megan Rapinoe won the best women's player award.

Megan Rapinoe celebrate a goal during the Fifa women world cup in June|Getty Images

Goalkeeper award

The best goalkeeper award went to Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson who competed against Manchester City's Ederson and Barcelona's Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Alisson has been successful not only in lifting the Champions league trophy, but also in helping Brazil to lift the Copa America cup on home soil.

Other awards

Leeds boss Marcelo Bielsa won the fair play award after he ordered his team to allow Aston Villa to score an uncontested equaliser during their 1-1 draw in their Championship match in April.

Eighteen-year-old Daniel Zsori won the Puskas award for the best goal with his spectacular 93rd-minute overhead kick for Debrecen against Ferencvaros in February.


See also: EPL super star demand transfer from his club

Related Stories

More Stories from Sports